Initiating my authority


In Genesis chapter 1 God gave man dominion over every animal in the world to care for them. I was sitting on my porch last night and I kept hearing the scratching of what I thought was to be a baby bird that had fell into the gutter. I brushed it off but the scratching persisted. I couldn’t bear the thought of some baby bird, nightmarish as it may be, to be sitting in the curve of the downspout fighting for it’s life to no avail.

So I ran inside to find a screwdriver and take the gutter apart to rescue the bird from it’s demise. After I disassembled the gutter, I shook it to see if maybe the bird would fall out. No success. I shook and shook and shook to see no bird coming out but the scratching persevered. So I did the next best thing. I turned the water hose on and shot water down the drain pipe. Still, no bird. Still, scratching!

What is this scratching noise and where is it coming from? I stuck my ear to the gutter to hear scratching but the gutter was not the location of the constant commotion.

Beside the gutter sets an aluminum bucket.photo0004.jpg Just maybe that sound is in there. To my surprise, it was. I was already late leaving the house and I thought I would do my good deed for the day and release this “bird” from it’s gutter-style grave. But it was no bird in the gutter. It was a bug in the bucket. This weird bug had somehow gotten into this bucket but couldn’t get out.

I replaced the gutter to it’s upright position. I did not release the bug though. It was ugly. Yet that was no reason for not fulfilling my daily good deed. I was rather upset that I couldn’t save a bird’s life. Even if I would have pulled the bird from the proverbial hat, where would I have taken it. I saw no nest in the tin on my roof. And if I had, it really didn’t need to be there anyway. So it was a bitter-sweet feeling.

(For the happy ending) The bug was released today.100_1327.jpg

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

Leave a Reply

