Just call me Daddy


For years I have said I was not in favor of  having a kid. I had come to the conclusion that I was too selfish. Too selfish with my money, too selfish with my time, to selfish with my resources, just too dang selfish. Over time and through many avenues God has brought me to learn what it means to give of myself and to be a servant instead of  the one to be served. The Lord led me to a job where instead of working to get ahead, I worked to serve my customers. The Lord led me to pastors who taught me that it’s not about becoming the best worship leader but yet serving the ones who serve me spiritually.

After teaching me servant-hood, which by no means have I perfected it yet I have learned of it far more than I ever thought I would, the Lord led me to a city where babies are so prevalent, you can’t walk without tripping over one.

My age is getting no younger, nor is my wife’s. So by this and knowing that many in my family were wanting a child by my wife and I, I began to pray. Praying for something that I didn’t know if I wanted was hard. But I began to pray that God would give me a heart for a child and a heart to love those children around me, to see the joy in a rug rat, to desire to see myself in another person walking around. I prayed. I prayed. I prayed.

Here we are 2 months into a pregnancy and I’m excited. Never did I think I would be excited but I am. To know that God is going to  make me a steward over another person is very thrilling.

How did we break it to our parents? We bought a picture frame and put a poem in it with a picture of a baby as a watermark behind the text and wrapped it up for Christmas and had them open it. This is their reaction.

We are embarking a new chapter in our life. It’s crazy, exciting, wonderful, new, refreshing, and scary! There’s probably more emotions I could add here but I don’t have my thesaurus handy.

You can prepare to call me Daddy. I’m getting the cigars ready. We’re gonna celebrate like it’s 1999!!!!!

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

Leave a Reply

