Awesome


WARNING-LEGALISTIC VIEWPOINT AHEAD


Awesome-1 : expressive of awe <awesome tribute>
2 a : inspiring awe <an awesome task> b : terrific, extraordinary <had an awesome time> (from Webster dictionary)

I hear the word “awesome” get tossed around everywhere. Everywhere from a great burger, to a great guitar lick to a great car to just a great time. I have made a commitment a while ago that I would only reserve the word towards one thing… er…person… er… ok being; God.

By Websters definition, to be awesome, it must create awe, it must be inspiring and life changing, and it must be extraordinary. To me there is only one thing that fulfills all these things;  God!

No burger, piece of music, automobile or tangible object has ever seized the opportunity to inspire to the point of awe so much that it changed my life. For me, nothing deserves the right to be called awesome. NOTHING. Only God.

God has. God always will. God is the only one that can accomplish such a tall feat. Because He’s bigger than life itself. He’ stronger at His weakest point than my mightiest. He’s more powerful, stronger, persistent, bigger, greater, long-lasting, patient, wiser, grander, holier than I will ever dream of dreaming about.

He is inspiring.

He is life changing.

He is extraordinary.

He alone reserves the right to be called AWESOME!

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

3 Responses to Awesome

  1. Good post, I can’t say that I agree with everything that was said, but very good information overall:)

  2. kevin251 says:

    This coming from a guy that’s okay with cussing?

    • Kevin Riner says:

      Words have meanings and purpose. Not all are alike. Words are meant to be properly used and I believe that in today’s society people don’t use words they way they are meant to.

      If you remember I don’t cuss recreationally meaning I don’t just throw words out there to fill a void. My words are used purposefully. Therefore yes, awesome is a word that can’t just be loosely thrown around. Neither is a cuss word. They all have a place.

Leave a Reply

