YES WE CAN


1 Corinthians 1:18-19; 26-31

18For the message of the cross is foolishness to those who are perishing, but to us who are being saved it is the power of God. 19For it is written:
“I will destroy the wisdom of the wise;
the intelligence of the intelligent I will frustrate.”…

…26Brothers, think of what you were when you were called. Not many of you were wise by human standards; not many were influential; not many were of noble birth. 27But God chose the foolish things of the world to shame the wise; God chose the weak things of the world to shame the strong. 28He chose the lowly things of this world and the despised things—and the things that are not—to nullify the things that are, 29so that no one may boast before him. 30It is because of him that you are in Christ Jesus, who has become for us wisdom from God—that is, our righteousness, holiness and redemption. 31Therefore, as it is written: “Let him who boasts boast in the Lord.”

You know what I love about this piece of scripture (I hate the word passage)? It says that I don’t have to have a MD or Bachelor’s to carry out the great commission.

Something I have been dealing with in myself lately and had a conversation with a great friend in Christ today is should we or should we not concern ourselves with a higher education in biblical theology or any other biblical studies. Is studying on our own good enough to handle the worldly-wise?

I understand that the bible says to study to show yourself  approved or does it mean “study”? Different translations leave out the word ‘study’ and insert the idea of being diligent and intentional in your work for God that you may be found approved and not lazy.

So I’m not asking should we not study, oh no. I like to study. It’s fun to learn new things. But I am asking the question how much? You see I wrestle with the thought I will never be good as those that are “famous” in the faith with knowledge that would put me to shame ie.; Rob Bell, Rick Warren, Andy Stanley, Mark Driscoll, John Piper. I could go on but these are names that’s thrown around my circle of friends.

What about Billy Graham? Not to downplay his work in Christ but I would say he wasn’t a big theologian. He was simple-minded per se. He brought the gospel, Christ the son of God, died and rose on the third day and now sits at the right hand of God.

I have never been to seminary. Should I go? I would like to just to have the extra knowledge but should I. Can I not carry out the great commission without a degree. Can I not grow a church without a diploma from some seminary? Is it possible.

All this to rambling to say a resounding YES WE CAN!!!! Why? Because it’s not me alone. God said If you lift me up, I will draw all men to me (John 12:32). You see, we can get all lost on biblical theology and drive ourselves in the ground debating what this means and that means when Jesus simply told us to go throughout the world preaching and baptizing in the name of the Father, Son and Holy Spirit. I think I can do that without a degree. For who am I trying to gain popularity with in my knowledge. My purpose is to make Jesus famous, popular, and known.

Do you disagree?

Th scriptures above tell of God taking the foolish and confounding the wise, the weak to confound the strong. The disciples weren’t learned, yet they succeeded in furthering the gospel. Peter said that Paul was too difficult to understand (2 Peter 3:14-16).  Sometimes… people can be too smart. Sometimes… they can be too smart for their own good! I think this is one of the reasons he said come to Him as a child. Because children don’t over evaluate things. They see it like it is.

Can we do damage to the kingdom of Hell for the sake of the Kingdom of God through my weakness and  lack of knowledge. YES WE CAN!!!!

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

2 Responses to YES WE CAN

  1. Thanks for sharing, I found this article while searching for music news updates, interesting comments and great points made.

  2. Kevin Riner says:

    Pearline Carrell, thanks for finding my blog on accident. I hope you stick around and read more or subscribe by email in the upper right hand corner.

Leave a Reply

