Easter


I wasn’t necessarily raised in church. When I was young we went to a small country church complete with butt hurting pews, squeaky floors and the smell of White Rain hairspray.

When my teen years got here I made occasional appearances to church but nothing serious. It wasn’t till I was eighteen that I met a girl and the only way her parents would let me spend time with her I had to go to church on Sundays. So I did. Since then I have pretty much been a regular attendee of the corporate worship.

I say all that to say I have never been much of fitting into the traditional orthodox box. I never have liked wearing a suit and tie. When the choir had to wear black slacks I chose to where dark jeans.

I have had a few through my life in Christ to put their arms around me and embrace my rebelliousness of the norm. They didn’t try to change me. If God is a God of creation He most certainly had an imagination. So why do we try to create a cookie cutter mold of Christians?

So today I think I have attended the most comforting Easter celebration I have ever had the opportunity to being part of. In our church, we celebrate the idea of uniqueness. Ted brought the message in tennis shoes. Not one person sported a tie. I busted up in chucks and blue jeans. But really what made it “xtreme” was the fact that we were able incorporate White Lion music in a video capitalizing the fact Jesus is risen. Second, we were able to incorporate a Twisted Sister song into worship speaking how that since Jesus is alive we should celebrate and rock out in celebration.

I stepped out of my proverbial box and became even more xtreme than I ever have been. I’m sure if my previous churches had experienced what we prepared for church today, they would have flipped a loop at how we celebrated the resurrection today.

He is risen and we are Xtreme about it. If you don’t like that, get ready because I just might become even more dignified than this.

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

One Response to Easter

  1. Heather says:

    Awesome!

Leave a Reply

