Results of An Experiment


I decided to do an experiment. If you remember me blogging about it, great. If not, you can read about it here. Now I would like to share with you the results of my little experiment. There are two. A good result and a bad result. Which one would you like to hear first?

I will share the good results first. The results to not posting so much and keeping it as minimal as possible means that I did not get angry and upset as much. I actually had a  peaceful week. I didn’t get upset at a lot of smart alleck answers and I didn’t get a bunch of rabbit trails away from the idea of the post in the first place. So I would go as far as to say that my experiment worked exactly like I hoped it would in this sense.

However

The bad results of my little experiment is this: no comments. You see if you minimize your posts there can only be one result and that is lack of comments. The one thing I have learned in this blog is that I have 126 posts with 147 comments. One would look at that and say that is at least one comment a post on average. Yes I would agree, however, I know that many of those posts are conversations between me and someone so I would go as far as saying an 1/8 of those comments are mine.

So lack of posts constitutes lack of comments. Lack of comments constitutes lack of traffic. Lack of traffic constitutes lack of popularity. This is rather depressing seeing I like an element of popularity.

My experiment shows that if you want peace, your activity must decrease. If you want popularity, you must be more active.

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

One Response to Results of An Experiment

  1. mndunn26 says:

    how interesting! that is exactly my fear with this experiment as well. If and when I post… only my mom will know because she actually “subscribes.” EVeryone else only knows when I have written something because I tweet it. I fear I’ll fall through the cracks. But what’s worse then falling through those silly cracks, is fearing them in the first place! Is twittter, or facebook or my blog really all I am at the end of the day? NO!… even though sometimes if feels that way:)
    Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

