Work In Progress


Paul couldn’t have said it better when he said I do those things I don’t wanna do and don’t do those things I do wanna do. I don’t know if he knew that translated to English he was writing a tongue twister but oh boy.

There’s so much truth and not just in the spiritual realm in that statement. When I wanna eat carrots for a snack I turn to a fudge round. When I wanna drink water I drink a Mt. Dew. When I wanna be patient I get impatient. When I wanna be calm I get angry.

Facebook and Twitter are the social black holes in my life and when I wanna resist the temptation to post I post.

It’s funny how in my mind I’m thinking with all my mind that I really want to do something but my heart is so filled with lust that I do the negative damaging things that I know I shouldn’t.

I feel really good when I doing those things I wanna do and know I should but somehow there’s that little bug in me that says it feels good to do the right thing but it’s more fun to do the wrong thing.

If only I could figure out the trick to making my heart override my mind and do the things my heart says is right. Or maybe I am. Maybe it’s my mind that knows the right thing and my heart is corrupt. Either case there needs to be a change.

Have ya ever been doing the right thing but thinking how fun it would be to be doing the wrong thing?

I want to give myself to the right things and when I do I want to be thinking the right things when I do. I want to give of myself cheerfully not begrudgingly.

May God continue the good work He has started in me. I’m definitely a work in progress.

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

Leave a Reply

