Friday in Chicago


This past weekend I had a great opportunity to head back to Chicago with some friends from back home. It was really cool to get to the airport and one at a time friends started showing up and we started catching up. I totally loved it. We flew into Chicago and took the train to our hotel.

After we got freshened up we headed to grab a bite to eat at the Elephant and Castle Pub. Soon after leaving we headed to Old Town and done some shopping and checking out the neat shoppes. Here are a few we checked out.

The Fudge Pot

I must say this is the best chocolate I have ever had in my life. Definitely will have to hit this shop if I ever go back.

The Spice House

I like using spices but I was ill prepared to purchase some at this time. I’m sure I will have to soon though.

Up Down Cigar

I visited this shop and blended my own pipe tobacco. Black Cavendish with a little Cherry for flare!!!

Guitar Exchange

After we left Old Town we headed over to The guitar Exchange . Here I immediately found the acoustic room, found me a 314-ce Jumbo Body Taylor and commenced to 15 minutes of worship in this room with nobody else there. After worship, I decided to write a song, because for some reason God has this sense of humor to always inspire things in a music Shop. So I recorded it with my iPhone so I could come back home and polish it.

Once done there, we found the bus and headed over to Buscemi’s PIzza and Sub shoppe, rated No. 1 pizza in Chicago, and it was well worth the money. But don’t confuse it with Steve Buscemi.

We left there and went back to the hotel to freshen up one more time and then head on over to Buddy Guy’s Legends. We got to listen to some real authentic blues and sit back and just enjoy the night. Left there and headed back to the hotel for some shuteye and get prepared for The Game.

Friday was good!

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

2 Responses to Friday in Chicago

  1. That sounds like an awesome trip. I love Chicago too. The only thing you missed was seeing the Cubs at Wrigley. That would be my first stop. Also, having a Chicago-style hot dog at Hot Doug’s (hotdougs.com). They have some awesome dogs!

  2. Kevin Riner says:

    Be sure to check into my next post Saturday in the Park (Chicago). I wished I had know about Hot Doug’s. Darn. Once again check into my next post.

Leave a Reply

