Clarksville Worship Leaders Network


We need each other. As iron sharpens iron so one man sharpens another right? Proverbs 27:17

The other day I got invited to a worship night at a local church. As a worship leader I wanted to go for two reasons. One, to see how another church does worship and two, to refresh myself from leading worship so much myself. So I went and after I left let me tell you I was ready to lead again. I was ready to worship more. The week following this worship night has had me on a level of intimacy with Christ I had been longing for so much.

It’s easy to get worn out and lose focus when your constantly pouring out and not receiving. Some refer to this as burnout. There are not many answers to burn out that I have been able to find. Most answers given to me when asked what they do for burnout is prayer. Really? That’s it. There is no other answer. I think there is. It’s called rest and receive.

Allow the Holy Spirit to minister to you instead of allowing the Holy Spirit to use you to minister to others. This is very important. I have made it a requirement to try to attend this monthly night of worship so that  I can at least be fed some for emptying myself so much.

I created the Clarksville Worship Leaders Network to do this very thing for local worship leaders. We need to gather for a moment and glean from one another so we can take back to our local gathering and continue in the knowledge that we’re either doing it right or there are better things we can be doing. The network gives us a chance to learn from others and whats working in their local gathering of believers.

We need to gather. It sharpens us. It encourages us. It teaches us. It sparks excitement in us. We need to gather. We were made for relationships. God said it wasn’t good for man to be alone, so He created Eve. The ten commandments, the fruit of the spirit, all have in mind three groups of people, God, me and you. We need to gather. There is good in gathering.

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

Leave a Reply

