Separation of Church and State part III


Set-up comments are better than no comments I will say that. Recently I received a comment on my blog about separation of church and state. You can read about the blogs part one and part two. On the comment from this blogger he said I would be interested to see what he wrote a bout a similar post. I think he set me up to give my opinion only to bash my thoughts. That’s called a set-up comment.

I commenced to reading it with an open mind (yea I do that) and I learned a little about James Madison another founding father of this great nation. I disagreed with him also about the fact that religion needs to be separated from any government decision. This was my comment to his blog post.

I do appreciate you informing me of your blog post.
I’m not sure where you stand with religion and that’s ok.
I would actually have to say after reading about
James Madison that I disagree with even another founding father on one thing.
True religion cannot be suppressed.
If you are a religious man, true to God and obedient to His word,
there is NO way that you can separate
biblical influence from decision-making.
Therefore rendering it almost difficult if not impossible
to separate the church from the state as it is embodied in a person.

It IS however possible to separate the corporation
of church from the corporation of government.
In other words, You can keep prayer from being prayed before
a meeting but you cannot keep one from praying
in his heart before a meeting starts. You can toss the
ten commandments out the door but you cannot keep
a judge from rendering judgment based on biblical principles.

I could go into more biblical accounts on how God wanted
to be king but the people wanted a human king in Israel
but I’ll save the bible study. I believe through the sayings
of Jesus and the Old Testament writings about God,
that God wants to be involved with the government
of an established country. We just won’t let Him.

I thought I made my point fairly clear. In 1st Samuel chapter 9 you can see that God gave the people a king for crying in chapter 8 that they wanted a king like the surrounding nations. They didn’t like the idea that god wanted to be king over the nation of Israel and Samuel was His mouthpiece.  So… God gave them a king, a not so good king but a king none-the-less.

I believe that God wants to be involved in politics. Actually, I believe God just wants to run the nation through His people. But some say that is absurd. I think, to say that you can run a country without the advice of the almighty creator, the Alpha and Omega,is absurd. To say You can make decisions that’s best for a nation of peoples and that you can make laws and run a prosperous nation better that an all-knowing God is insanity.

That’s what we as a nation say to God when we tell him that we no longer want prayer in our chambers of Congress, that we no longer want to display works on our walls that was the framework for our laws. I can only drop my head in shame to know that my constituents are banning God and saying we can do better than you. Really? I gotta see this.

Stay tuned for the next episode-Has the desire of God to be in our politics changed since Jesus came?

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

2 Responses to Separation of Church and State part III

  1. Doug Indeap says:

    The principle of separation of church and state, as applied by the courts, does not preclude government officials’ religious beliefs from informing their policy choices provided that advancing religion is not the primary intent or effect of government action, nor does it preclude citizens from voting based on their religious beliefs.

    Wake Forest University recently published a short, objective Q&A primer on the current law of separation of church and state. I commend it to you. http://www.adl.org/religious_freedom/WFU-Divinity-Joint-Statement.pdf

Leave a Reply

