Separation of Church and State part IV


I continue on my quest to speak out against separation of Church and State. Read more by clicking on the links below.

Part 1

Part 2

Part 3

On a recent blog on James Madison I was set-up to comment on in which I received a blast from the author, I ran across another comment made.

sekanblogger says:

True religion cares nothing about being in government.
Give unto Ceasar what is Ceaser’s; A clever reply that indicates Jesus had little care for what wordly powers can or may do. He certainly wanted no part in governing. Why would we govern in his name?
He would not approve.

I think there is a misunderstanding of purpose here by the commentator. Jesus came not to abolish the law but to fulfill it. That means he had a purpose, a goal. Anything else was detrimental. He had his eyes set on fulfilling His purpose and had he looked to doing other things then he would have deviated from His purpose rendering it a lost cause. Thank God he was more focused that I ever thought about being. He never moved away from why He came.

Meaning… When asked about many things from the pharisees he answered quickly and moved right along. That was not why He was here. It wasn’t to set government straight, it wasn’t to set religious legalism straight per se. It was to bring the Kingdom of God, to be a perfect sacrifice so we can be reinstated back to God (if we confess that we are sinful and believe in Christ and what He done).

As a worship leader, I have been asked by those that don’t believe in music in the church why Jesus didn’t say anything about music. Because music and many other things that Jesus was “silent” on was already discussed, handled, and taken care of in the Old Testament. Why focus on that again?

Jesus had a purpose. God the Father has desires. The Holy Trinity is Three in One. Three separate beings to make up one.  I’m saying God wants to be in our government even if Jesus didn’t say anything to the support, it was already made clear in 1 Samuel.

This is not an exhaustive study, this is a straight to the point blog.

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

3 Responses to Separation of Church and State part IV

  1. aunt ann says:

    ARE YOU GOING TO WORSHIP OR BE ENTERTAINED? IF YOU COULD NOT BE A LEADER OR PLAY YOUR GUITAR WOULD YOU CONTINUE IN THAT CONGREGATION OR GO SOMEWHERE ELSE?WHEN JESUS DIED ON THE CROSS THAT DID AWAY WITH THE OLD LAW AND BROUGHT US INTO THE NEW. THERE IS NO MENTION OF INSTRUMENTAL MUSIC IN THE NEW TESTAMENT ,OR THE CHURCH WORSHIP, DON’T YOU THINK IF IT WERE TO BE INSTRUMENTS IN WORSHIP ONE OF THE LEADERS,ELDERS, DEACONS OR EVEN PAUL WOULD HAVE BEEN MENTIONED OF HAVING A TALENT OF PLAYING SOMETHING?AND BY THE WAY I HAVE COMMENTED BEFORE AND NEVER HEAR A REPLY FROM YOU SOOOOOOO WHY NOT? LOVE AUNT ANN

    • Kevin Riner says:

      Firstly all caps means your yelling at me unless you accidentally left your caps lock button on.

      Secondly. You ask good questions. Some are exhausted by the church of Christ in which I’m tired of having to debate but I will cause your my aunt and I love you and enjoy conversation with you.

      But I want you to answer me two questions for me please. What is this old law you speak of and where biblically was it done away with. I will be honest and say these are trick questions so be prepared!

  2. Kevin Riner says:

    Also Aunt Ann you said you’ve never received a reply after replying on a post of mine. I went through all ten pages of comments I’ve had on my blog since I started it three years ago and every comment you made, I replied back to. Soooooooo… thanks for reading. Don’t stop 😉

Leave a Reply

