It’s Not About Me part I


Let me start off by saying this is another subject that’s dear to my heart. That’s why I named it part 1. I’m not really sure though if there will be a part 2. Stay tuned!

I made a post here asking the question that if you subscribed to the idea that it’s not about you to tell me why you feel that way. I got a whopping response. Absolutely NO responses. Sadly, I have many friends that subscribe to the thought, yet I still received NO responses. NONE!!!!!

I did have over fifty views in the first week but NO responses. NONE!!!!!

I digress

I took a look at a top 25 list of all time hymns. Most traditionalist believe that is the foundation to make their defense against alot of things when it comes to musical worship. The debate I want to focus on in this post is  the debate that some say we should be using songs in worship that speak about God, his glory, His majesty, His awesomeness, His greatness, His power, His splendor, and all of who He is.

We should not be singing what some have come to call me-centric songs or songs that use “I” in them. It’s not about me, it’s about Him.

I disagree. I will say I should have probably built my foundational argument first but I started here instead.

Allow me to list a few hymns that debunk this attitude.

Abide With Me

Breathe on Me, Breathe of God

Be Thou My Vision

Come Thy Fount of Every Blessing

I Need Thee Every Hour

I Love To Tell The Story

My Jesus, I Love Thee

Stand up Stand Up For Jesus

And my personal favorite, the “anthem of hymnals”

Amazing Grace

The point I’m trying to make is that all these hymns we’ve been singing for years are me-centric as well. Songs that speak of what God has done for me, what He’ll do for you, songs that encourage from one christian to another, songs about what we’ll do in response to what God has done for us.

Bottom line, It’s not about me, BUT it involves me. And since it involves me, I will sing about how God in all His glory, all His majesty, all His awesomeness, all His greatness, all His power, all His splendor, and all of who He is affecting me and how I will respond to all He is.

My definition of worship is this – It’s my response to who He is and what He’s done, doing, and will do!

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

Leave a Reply

