Open Mouth, Insert Experience?


It’s not easy running a church. It’s not easy being in leadership. What is easy is messing up. The beauty of the mess ups is gaining experience.  Just the other day I had the opportunity to set down with a friend that asked me for my advice. This guy is about 20 years my senior and I felt humbled yet excited that he would allow me into his life enough to listen and give advice.

What he didn’t know is I had gone through something similar to what he is going through just a few years ago and had learned and gained much wisdom on how to handle it if I ever experienced it again.

I have another friend that we have gone through many things. Things I don’t want to tell but we’ve laughed together, cried together, yelled at each other, prayed together, worshiped together, and played music together. He even housed me when I got kicked out of my parents house and led me to Christ when I was ready, not when he was. He is a friend. A great friend. Through our life together, I have seen a lot in ministry and done some things right, but I’ve done many things wrong. So I’ve learned quite a bit. But I haven’t arrived, don’t get me wrong.

So you may be asking where exactly am I going with this. I’ll tell ya. Let’s look at some scripture.

James 1:2-4 Consider it pure joy, my brothers, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith develops perseverance. Perseverance must finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.

Notice James said to consider it pure joy when you face trials. Why? I think it’s a simple answer that’s hard to carry out. But we have a problem with looking at life in the now rather than looking at life in the will be. Meaning, we get upset cause life is dealing us a bad hand rather than looking to what it might teach us and we can use to help others when they are going through similar situations.

By developing perseverance notice James tells us that once it’s finished in us we will be mature and complete, not lacking anything. Have you ever met someone who’s supposed to be an adult but still acts like a child arguing over petty things and throwing temper tantrums. Yeah, they didn’t persevere. So they are not mature and complete. Sad!

Do you want to be treated like an adult. Do you want to be respected for your thoughts. Try considering it pure joy when you go through trials. For your sake and others around us, so that you may be found mature and complete lacking nothing.

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

One Response to Open Mouth, Insert Experience?

  1. Keith Wallis says:

    Went through a minor breakdown some years back – what did I learn from that experience ? Exactly what you say here that NOTHING IS WASTED be they enjoyable experiences or not.

Leave a Reply

