Experiencing God


Love… ahhh. So much to that very small word with a huge ole meaning. I have no plans to define it. It means so much to so many people and to box it up is wrongfully devastating.

I was thinking today, how can someone who doesn’t know God begin to Love Him. I mean really? Do we honestly expect someone to say a prayer and get up and say I love you God? When was the last time you loved something you didn’t experience.

I love my car. Why? Because I saw and it and drove it.

I love this pie. Why? Because it makes my taste buds do flips and twirls.

I love my wife/husband. Why? Because he/she treats me well (or sadly looks hawt).

I love this song. Why? Cause it sounds awesome and puts me in a mood I like.

I love Justin Bieber. Why? No there is no answer for that. Your just messed up!!!!!

We that have experienced the love and justness and mercy and discipline and kindness and fire of God love Him. We know Him. But what about those that don’t know Him.

Question: How can they experience God and begin to love Him?

Answer: Through us that do know Him.

Is that not what we are called to do. To love God and others. By loving others as God loves us, they see God loving them and they in turn will find that loving God is good. This is what we need to do. This is what we should desire to do. In order to reach those who have not experienced God, let them experience Him through us, that they may to desire to experience the one who authored love.

If this is old news, how come we can’t get it right?!?!?!?!? When did we find it safe to move from this premise?

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

Leave a Reply

