What Me Worry


Right now I am in the process of buying a house. It has been a lengthy process and very stressful with all the hoops we’re having to jump through. It’s taken longer than expected and things haven’t gone the way we had hoped. But I’m not worried. I know that this is the house God has picked out for us.

Do you worry? Maybe about how bills will get paid, how a loved one will respond to a statement, how a job interview will go, how trying something for the first time will turn out? Do you worry? Does it help? Is there a difference between strategically planning and worrying?

I try not to worry. I make my plans but I allow God to override with His. Why not? He knows me better than I do. He knows what I need. He knows where I need to improve. He knows where I need to fall so I will learn.

I think about the effects and turnouts but I don’t worry and that makes some people think I have a cold heart. I may cry for a moment at a funeral when the reality hits me that they’re gone. But I hope to see them again. So I don’t worry about a loved one dying. I don’t worry about a major financial situation because my God will supply all I need according to His riches in glory. I don’t worry.

Jesus said who of you by worrying can add another hour to your life (Luke 12:25). If we truly believe God is God and we believe that we are to serve Him in any capacity even if that meant it would make us uncomfortable so that He is known and made famous, why worry? If he takes care of the birds of the air and the lilies of the fields how much more would he take care of us whom he made to be in the likeness of Him. (Luke 12:22-34)

Don’t worry!

The problem is we want fancy, we want comfort. God wants to be known. And to be known, sometimes we have to disregard our comfort for His renown!

Isaiah 26:8 Yes, LORD, walking in the way of your laws, we wait for you; your name and renown are the desire of our hearts.

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

2 Responses to What Me Worry

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention What Me Worry « finding satisfaction in the beauty of holiness -- Topsy.com

  2. Pingback: The Easy Way to Plan a Church Conference | audio conference calling

Leave a Reply

