8.29.10 Worship Rewind


  • That’s Why We Praise Him-Tommy Walker
  • All We Need-Charlie Hall
  • New Doxology-Gateway Worship
  • Amazing Grace (My Chains Are Gone)-Chris Tomlin
  • Shout To The Lord-Lincoln Brewster

That’s Why We Praise Him– If you’ve never listened to Tommy Walker I would highly suggest it. He is an amazing guitar player and his lyrics are so raw. I learned this song from my previous worship leader and I must admit I thought it was terrible when I learned it but I fell in love with it. We’ve done it a few times with some guitar licks from Sweet Home Alabama but not this time. Cool catchy song.

All We Need– Charlie Hall has some unique songs and this song from the Passion 06 project is a great song. It speaks of how we need nothing in this world except Jesus. So true. I think we’d be better off if we would quit striving for carnal things that so easily rust or can be eaten by moths. Store up treasures in Heaven that cannot be destroyed by created things. (Matthew 6:20)

New Doxology- Wonderful version of Doxology with a sweet chorus to go along. This song is done by Gateway Worship. Thanks to John Renken for introducing me to this version.

Amazing Grace (My Chains Are Gone)– I’m sure every one is familiar with this song. Need I say more? Actually yes. I want to reiterate what I spoke on this morning during worship. I really felt like someone was in the congregation who was feeling chained and bound by the sin they are so helplessly in. God was just speaking to me telling me to tell them and you if you’re in the same situation that those chains were broken when His blood was spilled on the cross. It was the last and greatest sacrifice that took away the sin of the world, the Lamb of God. We are free for where the Spirit of the Lord is there is freedom (2 Corinthians 3:17). And if that spirit resides in you then you are free!

Shout To the Lord– Can this be considered a classic now? It has a copyright of 1993. That’s 17 years now. Wow. We do the Lincoln Brewster version. This morning while during practice God reminded me through my incapabilities to play cool riff that I’m not a lead guitar player. Just stick with the cool riffs dude. Keep it simple bro!

Wonderful time of musical worship was had by all.

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

Leave a Reply

