9.12.10 Worship Rewind


(click on link to purchase in iTunes)

Today, our bass player was out-of-town so I gave the rest of the band a break and took on the yoke myself with an acoustic and lead worship. It was a good break to bring down the db levels and keep it simple with an acoustic and make it a little more intimate than normal.

Hosanna- One of my favorite Paul Baloche songs. Hosanna-God save us!

Ancient Of Days– You remember this song. Yeah! Good song. You remember back in the day when we would clap three times after singing “Your kingdom shall reign over all the Earth” clap clap clap? Yeah, we still do that.

Holy and Anointed One-I first heard this song at a youth conference I went to when asked to chaperon some youth. I thought it was such a great song and I have been singing it now for 6 years or so. I haven’t sang it though since moving to Clarksville but that has changed. Look for it to be in rotation for a while. If you’re an Xtreme member, let me know if you liked it.

Because of Your Love- My good friend Jamie Worley introduced me to Phil Wickham and I haven’t looked back since. I brought this song in on a Good Friday service and I believe our church has taken to it like a cow to cud. It’s just a real honest song on the love of Christ and our salvation through it! Thanks Jamie!

When I Think About The Lord– I was approached after church by our pastor and asked whose version did we sing. I said Shane And Shane! He was used to singing the Rita Springer version which to be honest I love her music but her version is real slow. And I just can’t sing that He makes me wanna shout singing around 65 bpm. Plus I love it when the whole church shouts after that line. If you haven’t heard it, you should!

Great Is Thy Faithfulness– I’ve never sang this song before. Ever! My worship leader Jake Isham from back home had sung it quite a few times, but I never have. I actually learned this the past week so I could sing it. Pastor Carlo was talking on faith and I wanted to relay a side of the fact that even when we are faithless to God, He is always faithful to us. Pastor Carlo said those very words after I finished the song. Good Job Pastor. Thataway to take the words straight out of my heart!

We had a wonderful time of musical worship and Pastor Carlo brought the heat with the a great message on Faith continuing our series on the F-Bomb; F words that we need to be aware of in our christian culture, Fear, Faith, and Forgiveness.

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

2 Responses to 9.12.10 Worship Rewind

  1. bkwestman says:

    Hey Kevin,

    Sounds great! You’re taking Dwayne Moore’s online class now, aren’t you? I think I recognized your name from the first session.

  2. Kevin Riner says:

    Hey Barry, yes I am taking the class. I’m very excited about it. It’s cool to get to know you through the class and really hope we can learn a lot.

Leave a Reply

