9.26.10 Worship Rewind


Click on link to purchase in iTunes

God Is Alive– I done something a little out of my comfort zone this morning. Normally to get the people’s attention we just break into the music loud and it lets everyone know that we’re starting. Sometimes I might say good morning. This morning, I started singing the chorus acapella. I started out. “Everyone glorify the risen son…” just a little slower and pauses for impact. It was really neat. Scary but I think it went really well.

Fortress 144– When I started leading worship at Xtreme we were a and still are a church full of manly men, soldiers and UFC fighters. So the pastor wanted me to find some songs that would minister to these guys. So I did some searching and came across Fortress 144. In the chorus the lyric says “All praise to you my rock who trains my hands for war.” These guys really connected with that. I wanted it to be a song that when they deploy and they’re in the muck and grime and bullets flying all around them, that the lyrics might come to mind and give all praise and glory to our Heavenly Father for training their hands for war. Btw, I totally love this song. It has a great guitar riff that I just jam out on.

Father Will You Come– I don’t remember how I came across this song but it is just an amazing song. During practice the band had a really good conversation on one of the lines in the song. The line says “Consume us with Your majesty.” We talked about what that actually looks like. So I ask you the reader. What does it look like to be consumed by His majesty. Answer that in the comment section if you’d like.

Word of God Speak– I started this song off slow with the chorus and verse then into the next chorus the band came in hard like the Kutless version. Just a great song. I noticed after church a young lady from church wrote on her Facebook wall that she desperately wanted the word of God to speak to her. I love it when the music portion of worship shreds somebody enough to pray the very song to God. That’s what it’s all about ain’t it.  I also noticed that the song also says “washing my eyes to see your majesty”. You can’t plan that stuff. Well… maybe you can but I didn’t. I love it when God just makes things blend together.

Blessed Be Your Name– The theme of the sermon was receiving from God and then submitting and serving with what we received. Sometimes like the song says and like Job put oh so well is that God sometimes gives and sometimes takes away. If we don’t appropriate what He has given us, He’ll take it away and give to someone else. Or sometimes He gives to us for a season then takes away. Either way God is good and that makes everything He does good. You can see my post on that here.

In my humble opinion we had an amazing time of musical worship. You guys from Xtreme blew my world today and showed me once again why I am so happy to be your worship leader. That last song, I just love it when you guys sing so loud that I don’t have to. You just took over and sang loud to our God. Great job!

Ted, I really thought you were gonna draw circles, Lol. Great job on the message.

Also don’t forget to answer: What does it mean to you to be consumed by His majesty.

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

One Response to 9.26.10 Worship Rewind

  1. terrytimm says:

    loved the way you stepped out in faith Kevin with the opening of worship. sometimes doing things differently can really capture people’s attention and get them connected in a deeper way.

    stay connected…

Leave a Reply

