The Most Popular Gift


Black Friday / Cyber Monday

Today is “Black Friday“. Every year I think about the crazy people who get up in the wee hours of the morning and go shop for the deals for Christmas. It’s a party for some and craziness for others. People actually camp out and wait in freezing temperatures so they can buy that “It” toy or electronic device for their loved one.

A few come to mind that have been popular over the years. Do you remember these?

The list goes on. I have provided a few links at the end of this post to provide you with some memories of past Christmas shopping ventures. But as I was discussing this with Carrie (my wife) she mentioned that she had the Tickle Me Elmo. I asked her where it is now and she replied that it was in the closet. I got to thinking over the years that during the frenzy of shopping on Black Friday people have been tragically injured or even killed because of crowded stores of people fighting to get their hands on the year’s popular things. Just a few years ago it was on the news that a local woman was trampled to death all over the desire for a Tickle Me Elmo. That’s tragic!

I wonder how many of you are like my wife and now have something that was treasured so deeply to get up and fight the crowds only to have it in your closet collecting dust or even worse it’s been sold or thrown away due to lack of interest. These things are a fading glimmer in the reality of eternity. They are what Jesus spoke of that rust away or moths eat up. They are a fading ember in the light of  time.

I can understand a deal. I like deals. But not at the expense of my health or sanity. I will wait. Cyber Monday is the new Black Friday, and it’s safer. These things that we get up early or even camp out and fight our way to purchase only to be left in the dust of newer technology in the new year are not comparable to my eternal gift that last forever and does not rust and moths can not destroy. Everything else is, well… Paul called it rubbish!

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

Leave a Reply

