iPad/iPhone Musicians


As I type this my wife is trying to break my son off the bottle and learn to eat whole foods from spoon. He is giving her a hard time and crying to the rooftops. He doesn’t like change. He wants to stay on his bottle. I think he gets it honestly. He’s definitely a chip off the ole block.

Here I sit and watching the video from Northpoint and I’m really not sure how to take the guys playing music on iPads and iPhones. I will say it’s very creative. It’s definitely something new and it looks to be setting the internet on fire with people who thinks it’s the coolest thing since sliced bread.

I don’t want to be critical of it because I’ve learned of myself over time that there are many things I tore apart and over-criticized only to really enjoy the product later. These guys have to know enough about music to be able to play it on such an “instrument”. But I tend to not like the digitized synthetic music. I’m not into looped beats and computer loops in music. I kinda like it that it fills in space in the music but I guess I’m old school when it comes to music.

So I’m definitely torn on whether I like the idea of this or not. I tend to lean towards the k.i.s.s. method when it comes to music.I like it raw and simple. Guitar or piano driven and punch out some good melodies. I’m gonna go on a limb for right now and say that I’m not into this idea of creating music on the iPad or iPhone. Yeah it takes talent, I get that, to be able to create music on these things. But I think I will stick with traditional forms of instrumentation.

I really, really hope this is a fad and doesn’t go much further than a few years like other musical fads have done and we get back to making quality music on physical instruments where no digital programming can replace the blood, sweat, and tears of learning a tangible instrument.

I’m sure some of you will disagree with my sentiments and deep down inside, I kinda hope that my mind will change and I can grow into this new concept of musicianship, but for now, this is where I stand.

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

3 Responses to iPad/iPhone Musicians

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention iPad/iPhone Musicians « Yahweh's Song -- Topsy.com

  2. ted says:

    I think it’s great. No different than using a synthesizer. Hey and what better way that to turn the iPad into a tax deduction for the worship band.

Leave a Reply

