21 Days of Fast


Xtreme Church has been challenged by Pastor Carlo with a 21 day fast to start the new year off correct and to rely fully on the grace and mercy of God to build his house for His glory.

I have personally took his challenge and starting Monday, January 10th, I will be fasting from what I consider is addictive substances. For 21 days you will not see me or hear of me on Facebook and Twitter.

I know your probably thinking what kinda fast is that. Isn’t it supposed to be food. To fast means to give up something of value to you in order to take that time you normally spend doing such things to pray and seek the heart of God over certain matters.

I find that Facebook and Twitter are rather addictive and consume a  lot of my daily time. So in order to take more time to search the scriptures, pray more, and seek His heart, I will be turning off on social networking. I will, however, still be blogging. So you can read what’s going on. But Facebook and Twitter will see me taking a hiatus for 21 days.

It’s gonna be hard, but I think it will be worth it. So I ask that you take a moment to pray for me as I am sitting wherever just dreaming of what’s going across the twittersphere or wondering what’s being facebooked that I’m missing. I won’t deny the temptation that Satan will try to throw my way as I leave these virtual places but I am well equipped and trained for such matters.

I would love for you to join me. Especially if your part of the Xtreme family. You can learn more about what we’re trying to accomplish at awake21.org.

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

4 Responses to 21 Days of Fast

  1. Faith says:

    Our church has done this in the past. It is a blessing when it is done for the glory of God. Dedicating the time typically spent on social media to spending with God will draw you nearer to Him.

    You have my prayers to maintain your commitment. 🙂

  2. I think I might steal this article and take the same challenge. Good luck buddy!

Leave a Reply

