Isabella 1993-2011


Today is one of the hardest days of my life. I just had my eighteen year old cat put to sleep. She has been with me through so many things, so many places and she was like a daughter to me. She didn’t like anybody including my wife. She only loved me and always wanted to be in my lap or under my feet.

When I was fourteen years old, I asked my mom if she would think about getting another black cat. Christmas time rolled around and she brought home this little kitten named Isabella from a previous little girt that was treating her mean. I actually didn’t want the cat myself. I was asking mom to get a cat but Isabella was mine.

Since moving to Clarksville she hasn’t adapted to change very well. She got to where she couldn’t jump on the bed anymore. Then when Levi was born, on the same day we brought him home, I moved us into another house and it seemed it got worse for her. I’m not sure if she didn’t like the idea Levi was getting all the attention but she started to show signs of getting old. I took her to the vet and was informed she had high thyroid count and possibly a brain tumor.

To make a long story short, she got to where she couldn’t walk and she wouldn’t eat or drink. She was falling over herself and would lean against the walls and just cry. I had seen enough so today became the hardest day since she’s been around.

I felt like a monster. A weeping monster though. I couldn’t stop the uncontrollable crying even to the point of feeling a little hyperventilation. As I put my pants and shoes on and walking out to the car all I could think about is an hour from that point she’d be in the ground. I was a monster, a loving monster though. She couldn’t go on like she was and I begged her to give me a reason not to take her to the vet. She gave me even more of a reason to take her. She continued in her crazy behavior. I felt like a monster.

The house is not quiet while I type this. I still hear her.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

10 Responses to Isabella 1993-2011

  1. Michael says:

    Very sorry about Bella bro

  2. Anonymous says:

    I’m very sorry Kevin. I know it must be hard.

  3. Faith says:

    I am SO sorry. Having a pet that long tends to grow an attachment regardless of how you felt when you got her. You are not a monster. You made the best decision for her. May the Lord give you comfort from your loss.

  4. aunt ann says:

    I am crying for you I know how it is. I have one left she is almost 16. You get so attached to them, they become just like children, and esp. when you don’t have any children like us. Kevin I believe you did the right thing. She was suffering so, she would have been glad for you to do it, if she could only tell you. Well I can’t quit crying and it is so early in the morning to have a stopped up nose. hee hee. Love you your crazy Aunt Ann

  5. aunt ann says:

    Well up at the top it says 7:11 am but here it is only 6:11 am must be an hr. off somehow. But I don’t know why.

Leave a Reply

