The Goodness of God book review


I wasn’t sure if I’d like this book or not. It looked like it might get a little deep for my liking. Boy was I surprised. When I received the book I was surprised at how short it was. 11 chapter falling within 120 pages.

One of the biggest questions in life is if there is a God that’s good, how can he allow so much suffering? I think it’s a fair question. It’s not one I have ever been ready to tackle and have fumbled over for words when asked. After reading The Goodness of God I can honestly say I have been well equipped to stand up for The Goodness of God in an evil world.

Randy Alcorn doesn’t beat around the bush. He gets right to the issues at hand and tackles them one by one. Things like where does evil come from, am I evil, how the opposition of evil is needed for goodness to be experienced, would it be good if God actually took away evil, is Hell real and really necessary, why He allows suffering, and what we can do to prepare for suffering in our life.

This book is definitely a book I need to read annually. I underlined so much in this book, I can’t share everything that spoke to me but I have included a few quotes, ones that jumped off the page at me. I highly suggest reading this book if you have any questions about why we suffer or why there is evil in a world intended to be good by a great God.

Quotes from The Goodness of God by Randy Alcorn,

– Evil cannot exist without the good it opposes. It’s not so much the removal of good as it is the corruption of good.

–  As Satan instigates evil and suffering in our lives, we must remember that he is not God’s equal. Michael the archangel is Satan’s equal.

– Scripture addresses when evil came into being, but not how.

– The bible attributes the origin of all human evil to people’s choices.

– God isn’t  the author of evil, but he is the author of a story that includes evil.

– A world without personal tragedy or natural disasters would produce no heroes.

– So long as we view evil as coming from sources outside us, we can view ourselves as victims, not perpetrators.

– As with all narratives, without conflict there is no story… Without the high stakes of humanity’s alienation from God, there can be no redemption.

– in our time of suffering God doesn’t give answers as much as He gives Himself.

– If God answered all our prayers to be delivered from evil and suffering, then He would be delivering us from Christlikeness.

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

Leave a Reply

