I Want That


I was broke once. I went three months without a job. I was let go right before Halloween and couldn’t find a job till near the end of January. I was broke. I was hungry. Ramen Noodles became my best friend at the dinner table. I could hardly afford decent drinking water. The water from the tap in my apartment consisted of so many chemicals it wasn’t worth drinking.

It was one of the roughest three months of my life. Some friends found out about my situation and bought me some groceries and surprised me after church one Sunday night. Plenty of canned food. I am thankful they helped. But you know it wasn’t the finest of foods. I was used to eating nice things and going to nice restaurants. I had been forced to become poor. I was 18 years old so budgeting was a foreign idea to me.

For me, those three months were just short of being homeless. I lived in a one room apartment literally. My bedroom was the living room as well as my dining room and kitchen. The bathroom had a curtain to separate it.  I was at the bottom of my rope. I felt I had nowhere to go and nothing to eat. But I had a bed and noodles so I was well.

But I had tasted that which is good and I wanted that. I had experienced the best and I wanted it back. I didn’t like being without. Just like in the video I had seen something I really wanted. I didn’t think my life would go on till I got it.

Now, I get that way with God. I was thinking yesterday how much I want God. I hunger for His righteousness. I thirst for His goodness. I want to experience more of Him and know Him deeper. I don’t want to be alone in a one room apartment with noodles. I want to be in His mansion eating on fine china the expensive meats in His presence.

I WANT THAT!

  • Matthew 5:6 (NIV) 6 Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they will be filled.
  • Philippians 3:10-11 (NIV) 10 I want to know Christ—yes, to know the power of his resurrection and participation in his sufferings, becoming like him in his death, 11 and so, somehow, attaining to the resurrection from the dead.
About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

Leave a Reply

