I Run To You


There are times I want to run in my life. Work, home, and church get so frantic I just want to run somewhere. I can’t seem to be able to live up to standards. Not standards others have imposed on me. Standards I alone have imposed. I set the bar high for myself to live by and I fail miserable so often I tear myself down for even trying.

I love these lines of this song…

We run on fumes
Your life and mine
Like the sands of time
Slippin’ right on through…

This world keeps spinning faster
Into a new disaster so I run to you

I can’t help to think that when things get so messed up in my life I need to run away from God when in truth that’s the absolute opposite thing I should do. Most folks think that God is out to squash us like an ant when we mess up but truth is like mentioned in the parable of the prodigal son, He wants us to run to Him instead of away that He may comfort us and reconcile us back to Him.

We see Him as our accuser when He’s really our comforter. We see Him as an avenger when He’s our redeemer. We see Him as the one who penalizes when in truth He’s the one who excuses.

I continually have to remind myself that I need to run to Him instead of away from Him when my life becomes a mess, when I fall into sin, when it seems I’ve met the end of my rope. In Him is our reward, our portion for life.

Psalm 142:5-7 (New International Version)

 5 I cry to you, LORD;
I say, “You are my refuge,
my portion in the land of the living.”

 6 Listen to my cry,
for I am in desperate need;
rescue me from those who pursue me,
for they are too strong for me.

7 Set me free from my prison,
that I may praise your name.
Then the righteous will gather about me
because of your goodness to me.

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

2 Responses to I Run To You

  1. gabe says:

    praise Jesus!!! Good post Kevin

Leave a Reply

