6.5.11 Worship Rewind


(click on links to purchase in iTunes)

Today we broke our attendance record. It was so cool to see so many folks at church. I led worship in my flip-flops. I love warm days.

All Because of Jesus –  Rocked it out to get things going.  The band is sounding so tight here lately.

Beautiful The Blood – It was good to hear everyone singing loud. I didn’t realize I had two Fee songs in the set. But that’s ok. From this point we went the theme of the cross.

There Is A Fountain – Wednesday night at practice, I asked the band if they had heard of this song and they didn’t . This is an old hymn I used to sing at a little Baptist country church years ago early on in my faith. Wood pews, ugly green carpet, little old lady tone-deaf on piano and the preacher leading the singing. This song sounded so good though. I led the first verse with guitar, second verse, the organ and bass came in, then we modulated up one step as the drums came in for great dynamics.

Galatians 3:9-14 9 So then those who are of faith are blessed with Abraham, the believer. 10 For as many as are of the works of the Law are under a curse; for it is written, “CURSED IS EVERYONE WHO DOES NOT ABIDE BY ALL THINGS WRITTEN IN THE BOOK OF THE LAW, TO PERFORM THEM.” 11 Now that no one is justified by the Law before God is evident; for, “THE RIGHTEOUS MAN SHALL LIVE BY FAITH.” 12 However, the Law is not of faith; on the contrary, “HE WHO PRACTICES THEM SHALL LIVE BY THEM.” 13 Christ redeemed us from the curse of the Law, having become a curse for us—for it is written, “CURSED IS EVERYONE WHO HANGS ON A TREE”— 14 in order that in Christ Jesus the blessing of Abraham might come to the Gentiles, so that we would receive the promise of the Spirit through faith.

The Wonderful Cross –This song sounded so amazing. I have a loop pedal that I recorded that guitar riff in the front while I read scripture. Heather played the keys and created a little sound atmosphere and it just sounded so good. Toward the end of the song it gets quiet and we work up a build that sounded so good. Unintentionally, when the drums came back in I heard Thomas drop out for two beats so I dropped out on guitar and sang the first line of the chorus. We all came in on the beat and it RAWKED!!!!!! How did we get so tight on these songs? Lol

Sweetly Broken –  We would never be doing this song had it not been for Jordan who led worship for us a few times before he deployed for Afghanistan last year. He came back and today was his first service back with us. He told me after service that he mentioned to his wife while we were singing The Wonderful Cross that Sweetly Broken would be perfect to sing after. We did. I’m glad we think alike! I just gotta say, this song sounded amazing and the band is just on it right now.
I’m very thankful for those I get to lead each and every week with. God has been showing out this month. I’m also thankful for those I get to worship with. I pray for Xtreme each week that God would prepare us for worship and meet with us when we gather. He has been answering!
You can see what other worship leaders are doing at The Worship Community

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

6 Responses to 6.5.11 Worship Rewind

  1. Jaemi says:

    Worship was awesome this morning! I actually got caught up and forgot to move on in the chorus for one song. I love to see more and more people entering in and really experiencing the power of God through musical worship. You hear more and more voices every week!!

    • Kevin Riner says:

      “You hear more and more voices every week!!”

      I know right? Man it’s so good to hear people worshiping. God is really moving in our worship times here lately. It’s exciting.

  2. bkwestman says:

    Hey Kevin – sounds great! We did “Beautiful the Blood” today too! Great song!

    Barry Westman

  3. Rob Still says:

    Hey kevin, nice looking blog! Man, “There is A Fountain” is an AMAZING song. Good on ya for doing it.
    Where are located?

    • Kevin Riner says:

      We’re in Clarksville Tn. I wished I could take credit for the looks of the blog if thats what your talking about but unfortunately it’s a free background, ha ha ha.

      I actually had forgotten another that song till one night I was playing a lot of songs out of an old hymnal and came across it. I was like dang, I love this sing. How could I have forgotten about it.

      Thanks for reading and chiming in Rob.

Leave a Reply

