6.19.11 Worship Rewind


(click on links to purchase in iTunes)

It was a stormy morning before church. A lot of rain and thunder. Thankfully it cleared up and the house was packed again this morning for worship.

Liquid – I was a little nervous starting off with a song that is not necessarily a sing along song. Great song though. The folks dug it pretty good. Very encouraging. We may do more of this just to get things started.

Grace Like Rain – It’s always a favorite to sing at church. I can’t help but to try to add raspy grundginess to my vocals to sound like Todd when I sing it. It’s just there! Lol

Lead Me To The Cross – Another fun song to sing and play. I like this song because I want the church to know I’m not wanting them to be led to the altar of music or to enjoy a great band but to be led to the cross. That’s where worship is at and redemption and grace is found.

Offering – This is a new one for the church.We’ve played it once but just as a special song. It will take a few times for it to grow on the church but I’ve been playing it a while and love it.

Overcome – This is somewhat of a new one too. We played it a few times last year but it didn’t seem like it went over well. So I thought I would give it another chance. We’ll see how the church responds. Does your church play this song? Does your church like it?

2 Corinthians 5:21 – He who knew no sin became sin on our behalf so that we may become the righteousness of God!

It was another wonderful time together worshiping God and Pastor Carlo brought another great message on myths in the church needing busted. He has so many one liners. I need to write them down and share. Our interim pastor from last year filled in on bass. I love playing with that guy. He’s a great musician and has a great heart for the Lord. He’s also packed on some serious muscle since he deployed to Afghanistan last year. It also looks like I performed a miracle getting my laptop back up and running.

Happy Father’s Day to all you daddies out there. Mine has been great and have truly enjoyed spending time with my 11 month old and my wife. I got a homemade cake and a book on the Independence of America. I’m blessed.

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

Leave a Reply

