We Just Sat There


Today I sat by the river. I wanted to be with you. I didn’t want to talk. I didn’t hear you talk but I felt like you were there sitting beside me on the park bench.

You didn’t speak. You just sat there. Like two old friends who say so much without one word spoken. We sat in each others presence.

The trees stood strong and tall giving you a standing ovation because you are. The water shouted as it brushed agains the rocks because you are. The fish jumped in anticipation because you are.

You and I? We just sat there. As two old friends who don’t have to say a word to know that we are there for each other. We just sat there.

You didn’t condemn me for my sinfulness. You didn’t praise me for my devotion. You didn’t tell me how better of a husband, father, brother, or child I needed to be.

We just sat there. Like to war buddies who’ve known each other for so long can sit in silence and say so much.

I enjoyed your creation shouting and praising you. I enjoyed the breeze reminding me of your invisible presence. I read the dirt that’s been here since creation. I watched the clouds roll though like a like tumbleweeds in the sky.

But you and I? We just sat there. Not one word. Complete silence but so much was said between us.

I enjoyed out time together. I didn’t have anywhere to be but with you which is what I wanted. Because although so little was said, so much was spoken.

Thanks for sitting with me today God. I say thanks from the bottom of my heart as my lips are silent.

Just sitting here!

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

Leave a Reply

