Nobody Knows


Being a musician makes it hard to understand that non-musicians don’t know when you mess up… unless it’s obvious. I’ve been part of obvious screw ups. Forgetting lyrics, missing keys, voice cracking, strings breaking. I’ve seen quite a bit of screw ups in 20 years of making music.

Sunday I sat before our worship team and gave a talk to our newest member, an 11-year-old bass player who will be an amazing musician very soon. I spoke how when we mess up, if we hit a wrong note, come in late, stop early, not to sweat it because 99% of the church will not know it.  Stay strong, keep a straight face if you blow it. Don’t let on to your mess ups and no one will know. Try to get back in there in the right place and keep on playing. But don’t sweat it if you miss it.

Unfortunately, I let my emotions get to me. Our drummer cut out one chorus too early when we were to transition into a sweet 80’s song We had practiced it and practiced it and practiced it and we nailed it every time. But for some reason come “show” time, we bombed the transition. I don’t know what happened but the transition didn’t.

I stepped off stage very bummed because I was excited to play that transition and rock into the next song. But it didn’t happen. At least the way I wanted it to. I just couldn’t believe it happened. I couldn’t believe we messed it up. I couldn’t believe we bombed that transition. I couldn’t believe that the next song would sound near as good without the transition. I couldn’t believe that the church would not be blown away with our awesomeness.

I left church and went home. Nobody called me and said,  “Man that would have sounded better if y’all would have just made that transition.” Nobody told me worship would have been killer if we would have just made that transition. Nobody told me anything.

I want things to sound great. I want  the worship music to go off without a hitch. I want to play perfectly. I want it to sound amazing. But let’s be honest. Nobody knows! They had no clue that transition was there.

Without the Holy Spirit involved with worship, we just sound like a clanging cymbal. It’s terrible to His ears unless He is allowed to move. Without the Holy Spirit, we’re just playing songs. It’s not worship without Him! And so I get all wrapped up in things that really don’t matter in the long run.

In the long run, if God is worshiped, some silly transition won’t matter. I hate it when I have to eat my own words. My hat needs some salt. My mouth is the shape of my foot. Humble pie is not that great to eat. So here am I concerned about some crazy musical transition and there are more important things to be concerned about. Like leading people to the cross. Wait, I think the cross is the epitome of humbleness.

Thanks for the lesson Jesus!

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

Leave a Reply

