9.25.11 Worship Rewind


(click on links to purchase in iTunes)

It was good to be back in the driver’s seat leading worship today. I love being real before God and leading others to be real as well. My voice still isn’t all the way back but a good cup of coffee sure can warm the chords and make singing a little more bearable. Here’s what we sang.

Jesus Loves Me – I always find myself a little nervous singing this song is front of guests at church. One, because I’m afraid their first thought is “Why are we singing this kid’s song” and two, because I think they’re gonna think our church is lame because we’re singing a quote/unquote kid’s song. But this song has depth of history in our church so we continue to sing it. I rewrote the chorus to give more of an “adult” feel and relevant music. I think it rocks!

Psalm 92:1-5 It is good to give thanks to the LORD And to sing praises to Your name, O Most High; To declare Your loving kindness in the morning And Your faithfulness by night, With the ten-stringed lute and with the harp, With resounding music upon the lyre. For You, O LORD, have made me glad by what You have done, I will sing for joy at the works of Your hands. How great are Your works, O LORD! Your thoughts are very deep.

I encouraged the church that either we’re going through joy in life or feel as though God has abandoned us but remember on all that God has done for us just as the Israelites created alters to remember all the things God had brought them through and to find joy in those memories and worship God this morning.

Not To Us –  Song sounded great and the musicians did a great job. What else can I say.

Lead Me To The Cross – This song sounded great. I know during rehearsal I asked where our recording contract was at. The guys (and gal) in the band was just spot on this morning.

Sweetly Broken – I think I started this song a little fast. See notes below on my distraction with volume levels leading me to not pay attention to what I was doing. The song sounded great though. I could hear folks singing out. Such a great song to sing.

Look What You’ve Done – I really felt like God had laid on my heart to sing The Old Rugged Cross after the Sweetly Broken but at the moment of leading worship singing was not an option, so I prayed it. How cool is that? Praying lyrics of a song instead of singing them.On this song, when I started singing it, I felt like I had started to high but I looked at the chord charts to make sure I didn’t need a capo. I was in the right place. I sure struggled with this song not thinking about it when I planned it that I was coming off losing my voice.

Over all we had a great time of musical worship, spent some time in prayer and read scripture. The band played great like they never missed a beat. Church was just a really good time today. I love worshiping with these guys.

***Between the Not To Us and Lead Me To The Cross, the vocal in my monitor sounded like they dropped out.I hated to break “character” and ask from the stage if I could be heard all right but I felt like they dropped out so much that they may have not could have heard me. During Sweetly Broken, the sound tech and I were trying to get it sounding right in my monitor. It was a little distracting for me because two songs I had one level and then the next I can’t hear. After worship, we talked and she told me the mains were exceedingly too high. By bringing them down, I was hearing some room volume aside from my in ears and I felt I lost volume because I was already used to the full levels; in ears and room volume bleeding in.I never got used to the levels again. It just never sounded right after that.

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

Leave a Reply

