I Would Like To Thank…


What an amazing baseball season Major League had this year in the St. Louis Cardinals. My love has run deep for them for 24 years now. I have seen them go to four World series’ and win two of them; 2006 and 2011. So with the latest Championship win, I would like to give a shout out to all that made it possible in my life to sit here today celebrating the morning after, a fan of the World Series Champions, the St. Louis Cardinals!

  • God – It goes without saying first and foremost God should be thanked. There has been revival on the Cardinals bench for a few years now and anyone who comes in contact with Pujols can’t escape the grace and mercy of Jesus Christ. Plus we all know God’s a fan of the Cardinals too.
  • My Wife – She endured hundreds of games this year thanks to the first year ever of having cable in our house. She would on occasion ask me, “Are we watching baseball again. I’m tired of baseball.” Thanks baby for letting me run through the field of dreams. It was well worth it in the end.
  • My Son – Although he doesn’t know it yet and cares more about the ukulele my friend bought him than seeing history being made, he will soon fall prey to the painful love that only being a fan of the St. Louis Cardinals can provide.
  • My Dad – He approached me at nine years old and asked if I wanted to play baseball. I had no clue what it was and this pit of everlasting devotion to one sport had been opened up. Thanks for sharing the love Dad.
  • My Brother, Robby – When I was ten, he brought home a Cardinals jersey and gave it to me which has since disappeared in a house fire but the devotion to one team for 24 for years has outlasted anything moths and house fires can destroy.
  • Whitey, Ozzie, Vince, Willie, Tom, Tony, Jack and Terry – For displaying such an amazing talent on the field that left me wanting to emulate you. You are forever etched in my heart
  • Darryl Kile – We will never forget. NEVER!
  • My Pastor – For letting my wife and I come over and watch the Cardinals clench the championship in 2006
  • All my friends and family – who do and don’t understand my devotion to a baseball team. If you only knew my red blood cells look like small STL’s and my white blood cells look like baseballs. I love the sport, and I love this team.

Congratulations to another World Series Championship. Just 16 more and we catch up with those hated Yankees.

To Cubs, keep wishing.

To the Texans, good fight. That game six was the most amazing game in Major League history. You still got a chance… next year

To the Brewers, Love you guys but that Nyger fellow, get rid of him. He’s hurting your classiness.

To the Phillies… thanks for beating the Braves and giving us another chance to whoop up on ya. By the way, phooey on Howard.

To the Braves, thanks for choking

To the Reds, I can’t believe I even thanked your garbage. Just the mere mention of your team makes me gag! #redswish

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

Leave a Reply

