Lessons From Levi (Getting In Trouble)


Disciplining Levi seems to be a simple thing to do. I can give him that look and he knows he’s in trouble. When I take things away from him, he starts to cry. When I sternly use my voice towards him he’ll cry. He knows when Daddy means business and he doesn’t take it lightly. He cries and when he does cry, I’m not talking the sniffles. He goes in to hyperventilation. He doesn’t like it when Daddy’s mad.

I don’t like it either.

One thing I’ve seen Levi do I’m not sure I’ve seen any other child do is when Levi feels like Daddy is mad, he’ll cry hard and walk towards Daddy with his arms up wanting to be held. I don’t know about you but when I get in trouble, the last person I want to be comforted by is the person who has scolded me. I don’t want to even see that person. Stay away.  Not Levi.

Levi wants to be held. I’m no psychologist so I don’t know why he does this. But what it has taught me is when I make God mad, when I sin intentionally (and we all do), when I upset or disappoint God and shame rains down on me, I shouldn’t run from God. I should run towards God. The last thing I should do is avoid the very one who loves me with an utmost love and knows what’s best for me and cares enough for me to show me what’s right.

Thanks Levi, for teaching Daddy, to run to God when I have done something wrong, not away from God!

*Levi is my 2-year-old and I'm learning life lessons watching him grow

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

Leave a Reply

