2.12.12 Xtreme Worship


  • Beautiful King – Jonathan Lee
  • Jesus Paid It All – Chris Tomlin
  • Here I Am To Worship
  • All My Lovin – The Beatles
  • That’s Why We Praise Him – Tommy Walker

Continuing our series on Love today we had a great time of worship as well as I got the opportunity to bring the message on Love and God. Since going to two services we spend our rehearsals on Wednesday night going over new material or songs we feel NEED work. Sunday mornings we hit the transitions so sometimes we don’t actually go over every song all the way through which has not blown up in our faces yet. It’s actually went pretty well. Even with our pianist missing rehearsals it still went well today.

I’m thinking it’s about time for a new arrangement for Jesus Paid It All because the one we use by Chris Tomlin is getting rather old. It has a very anthemic feel and we simply can’t pull that off like he does.

Here I Am To Worship was a little different today. Thomas (drummer) laid out most of the song and used the “shooka shooka” can and we built dynamics toward the end of the song after the bridge. I though it sounded great. Afterwards we transitioned into a chorus of a slow version All My Loving. We then sang another chorus with full band rocking out going straight into another chorus of Here I Am To Worship. This was a pretty good blend.

As I said I got to bring the message today as well I got recognized in front of the church as Associate Pastor and given a License to Preach certificate. I actually rapped some DC Talk lyrics from Luv Is A Verb today and a lot of folks loved that. That was fun.I don’t think I can preach without mentioning a song or two in my messages since I’ve been playing music for twenty years.

Today was a great day at church. I am dog tired and exhausted.

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

2 Responses to 2.12.12 Xtreme Worship

  1. Jaemi says:

    First off, the transition to and from “All My Loving” were great. In practice and during both services you guys nailed it!! Second, I don’t think we’ve heard the last of you rapping “Luv Is a Verb.” Heeheehee…

Leave a Reply

