The Last Song We’ll Sing This Sunday


Every morning I usually try to have a blog post so my blog stays active. Some mornings, I have nothing to say. That used to not be the case. I use to always have something to say about something but the more you dig into God’s word, the more you learn that quietness comes with wisdom, to learn to listen more and speak less. The beauty of learning this lesson is when you do speak others will listen because you are not always talking. You know where I’m coming from. We all know those folks who talk too much and when they start to speak again you close your ears and hearts because (s)he’s just blowing smoke again.

I don’t want to be that person.

I say all that to say this. This morning was another morning I had nothing to say. I woke up to see my family off to work and daycare, threw on my clothes, fired up the lawn mower ad cut the yard. I took a shower, sat down with a yummy glass of sweet tea on the porch with my computer to go over today’s news and social network updates. After that I ran through our set list for next Sunday to make sure my heart was prepared to worship God.

During the last song that we’ll be singing Sunday, God just touched my heart and reminded me how truly blessed I am. To have a loving wife and a son who adores me enough to imitate everything I do. I told my wife the other day “Imitation is the epitome of humiliation”. It truly humbles me to see my son want to be like me.

I grabbed some farm fresh eggs (with a chicken feather still stuck to an egg) from the fridge, scrambled me a couple and covered with cheese and tossed them on a tortilla for breakfast. As I sat and ate I couldn’t get past the words of the last song we’ll sing this Sunday.

I remember this last winter when I lost my job and Carrie and I didn’t know what to do or what will happen. We had people we can’t even name because they were anonymous donors give us money and food (boxes on my doorstep, cash in my coat pocket). We had prayers from so many people because the uncertainty of our future was leveraging our motives to fear the unknown. With a 1.5 year old needing food we were definitely curious how God was going to pull this one off. Thinking of that makes me think of the words of the last song we’ll sing this Sunday.

Monday mornings I get to be on the radio speaking to hundreds if not thousands of people about the grace and love of God. I get to help people with disabilities get jobs and having already done so, the reward outweighs the monetary paycheck. I get to spend time every day studying through the scriptures, and invest in our worship team a little more because I have that time. I get to invest in my family by making dinner for my family because I now have that time. And I can’t get past being able to do it because of the truth found in the words of the last song we’ll sing this Sunday.

Something I’ve dreamed about for a long time is being able to work for THE MAN for a living. It didn’t come easy. I brutally fought for it and have lost some relationships along the way while strengthening others. I have done damage that is irreparable to get the skills to be here today. I have fought a good fight of being as faithful as I could to God and others but I have failed miserably in doing so. In all I have done, unfortunately it never was up to me to get here. It was all because of Jesus and through the truth of the last song we’ll sing Sunday.

I can only thank you for reading my words. You may be wondering by now what that song is. I’ll tell you.

Great is Thy faithfulness, oh God my Father;
There is no shadow of turning with Thee;
Thou changest not, Thy compassions, they fail not;
As Thou hast been, Thou forever wilt be.

Great is Thy faithfulness! Great is Thy faithfulness!
Morning by morning new mercies I see.
All I have needed Thy hand hath provided;
Great is Thy faithfulness, Lord, unto me!

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

Leave a Reply

