He Is GOOD!


I get an amazing opportunity. I get to be worship pastor of a church part time and work with disabled people to help with job placement part time. This is an amazing opportunity to help lead folks in worship and to help lead folks in finding a job. I get to make a living helping others.

I have dreamed of this since I God found me wandering aimlessly as a musician trying to make my mark in this world as a rockstar.  Words can’t express how awesome it is to be able to do the things I’ve been able to do the last four months.

Today as I write this I am sitting at Panera Bread (hipster sandwich place) at a table with three other leaders from my church in Fayetteville, North Carolina, 600 miles away from home preparing to go to a leadership conference. It’s 9:30 in the morning and I get to sit here typing this after I have spent time looking through blog feeds and news feeds. I’m not trying to brag.

I’m blessed and this is my avenue to express.

But with the blessings come prices I have had to pay. These are high prices. Prices that I would have to consider if it were material objects I was purchasing.

Firstly, the price to be away from family. I miss my wife and son so much. I’m away from them for three days and can’t help but be reminded of their love and comfort when I see another wife or child. I need my wife and son in my life. Without them, I would be at a loss. Knowing that God is my foundation, my wife and son build the walls to the structure I call life. Without them the wind and rains of life would make me cold and miserable.

Secondly, I have traded a great paycheck for something that has no monetary value, helping mentally and physically disable folks prepare for the work force and sustain a job. I have placed a few clients in jobs now and when I let them go, it’s like tearing a part of me away from myself. I invest so much into my clients and then after 90 days of placement, they’re on their own. The paycheck I received from doing pest control does not compare to the spiritual and emotional fulfillment I receive from placing a client in a job. It’s tough paying the bills and we’ve had to cut a few things off to make it work, and that’s ok.

It’s called sacrifice for a reason. Sometimes, in order to make the vine bear fruit, it needs pruning. By pruning a secure job and nice paycheck has made me more sensitive to the demand of family and closeness of a wife and son. It has made me more of a pastor to those who need a pastor figure in their life.

Is life perfect? No! But man I sure am enjoying the blessing of God and the life it leads even if the Lord takes away. He is GOOD.

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

Leave a Reply

