Nighting Gayle – For the Least, Last and Lost


This song was influenced by Norah Jones’ Nightingale song. As I was listening to it I thought of a prostitute I met in Nashville Tn while doing some pest control. She was a mess and my heart just broke for the lifestyle she had chosen. I decided to write a song about her as well as use the same context of Jesus telling the woman who was caught in adultery to go and sin no more.

I named the song Nighting Gayle because it was fitting that this lady was named Gayle and she did her work at night. This is one of my favorite songs on the CD. I love playing that guitar intro. That was something that I had been playing with for a while but never could find a song to fit it. I had recently bought a banjo and wanted to put it in something and so it wound up in the chorus of this song.

Lyrically I think the song worked really well. Banking on the idea that a woman sells her body God is calling her to come to HIm for free. No charge, to help her get her life back in order. He offers her the reality of true love for free and that regardless of how much she thinks she’s done, no matter how bad the things she has done, He always accepts her. That is God’s love for her. That is God’s love for us.

You can get a free copy of my CD at Noisetrade.

Nighting Gayle

You don’t have to make that sale 
Tonight Nighting Gayle
You don’t have to give yourself
Tonight Nighting Gayle
 
Oh, come to me
Oh, come to me for free
 
Oh, Nighting Gayle
Go and sin no more
Oh, Nighting Gayle
Your sins are no more
Cause I have love for you
Nighting Gayle
 
I know its hard to see 
Tonight Nighting Gayle
But you can’t save yourself
Tonight Nighting Gayle
 
Oh, come to me
Oh, come to me for free
 
Oh, Nighting Gayle
Go and sin no more
Oh, Nighting Gayle
Your sins are no more
Cause I have love for you
Nighting Gayle
 
You think you’ve done bad
You think you’ve done wrong
But I can give more love than you’ve ever known
So turn from your own ways
And let me show
That I can give more love
Than you’ve ever known
 
Oh, Nighting Gayle
Go and sin no more
Oh, Nighting Gayle
Your sins are no more
Cause I have love for you
Nighting Gayle
About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

One Response to Nighting Gayle – For the Least, Last and Lost

Leave a Reply

