6.24.12 Worship Rewind


  • Everlasting God – Lincoln Brewster
  • Fortress 144 – Brian Doerksen
  • What Can I Do – Tree63
  • It Is Well – Hymn

Today we wrapped up our series Make War. Today we talked about making war on our past.

Ain’t it funny when you watch practice fall apart yet God takes it and makes “go” time work out. Worship sounded good and our team really plays well.

I brought in an old song we used to do called Fortress 144. We quit playing it because the bridge never set well with me. So I rewrote it. Yes, I asked Brian for permission. I thought it flowed better and I for sure felt much better singing a song that made more sense.

We tried a new arrangement of It Is Well. We played the same chords and vocal melody but musically we rearranged when instruments come in, how much they play, and when they get loud or soften. I thought it was well.

First service went well. Second service, I got distracted a little and fell short on my harmonies and a couple of wrong chords. Sometimes I can focus on trying to listen to God and what He wants to say through me instead of letting the song speak for itself. It happens.

I shared a story before singing It Is Well and shared some scripture from Psalm 34. Stay tuned. I’ll share that story tomorrow.

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

Leave a Reply

