Lessons From Levi – New Mercies


Lately, Levi has been a fussy little monster (even without the cookies). He’s been a magnet to Mommy (Carrie) and has shunned me except when she’s not home. The mornings are like pulling teeth. He won’t tell me bye nor hug me. The evenings before bed is like pulling toe nails. He won’t tell me goodnight and hardly will even look at me through the tears.

To a father this can definitely have an impact. It can be a blow to the fatherly pride to see your son not want anything to do with you. I’ve already went through this once when he was a baby up to about 8 months old. He literally cried hard if I held him, fed him or had anything to do with him.

Each morning we wake up, I have to remember how much I love that little guy. No matter how ear-piercing his screams get, no matter how many tears he sheds, no matter how many times he tells me no, no matter how much he ignores me or refuses my love, I have to get up each morning with an exponential amount of love and give him another chance to respond to me. Will he accept me this morning? Will he approach me for love this morning? Will he tell me bye when he leaves the house?

As the son teaches the father, the father learns about his Heavenly Father.

Lamentations 3:22-23 Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed,
    for his compassions never fail.
23 They are new every morning;
    great is your faithfulness.

God awaits each morning with new mercies and more compassion for us to talk to him, look to him, and acknowledge that he is present in our lives. Each night we cry out due to life’s problems but we don’t want God to fix it His way. We want it our way. We throw fits of rage and expect God to answer our problems the way we want Him to. We party, live it up, and carry on as if He doesn’t exist and in the mornings we complain about the hangovers and the hangouts.

All the while God is saying to us, I love you so much even if you won’t have anything to do with me. I’m still here to listen to you. I’m still here to pour compassion over you. My mercies are so high, so deep, so wide, so large that you can’t outrun, outlive, and outgive (outwit, outlast, outplay) and sure you can’t handle all I can pour on you. I love you that much.

Will you come to me this morning to receive your new fresh batch of mercy, compassion, and forgiveness. If you don’t, I’ll be here ready to pour all my love on you tomorrow morning. I won’t give up. You are my love, my creation, my joy. I’m not leaving nor giving up hope that one day you’ll come to me.

I’m here for you.

You’re Abba (daddy)

*Levi is my 2-year-old and I’m learning life lessons watching him grow

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

4 Responses to Lessons From Levi – New Mercies

  1. mara says:

    Thank you Kevin. You summed it up His Love won’t it can’t give up on us. He is my Abba in a world when earthly fathers shun pouring love out to their children( Thank you for showing the Love of God to your son) God reminds us/ me I’m not like them or your earthly father. I put my Word above even My Name that I won’t let you down, I won’t leave you, I won’t abandon you -ever. You can trust Me and My Love. It forgives the most unforgiveable of acts and My Love is so True I won’t even make you pay for your debts – I sent My Son for that…

  2. Jaemi says:

    He may not want you at home, but the first words out of his mouth every Sunday morning are, “My daddy?!?”

Leave a Reply

