Lessons From Levi (I Have The Power)


Years ago, I was working full-time on third shift and going to school full-time. I would get off work at 7 and had to be at school by 8:30 and sit at a computer for 8 hours learning how to draw blueprints. It was a hard time in my life. I had just gotten married and I wasn’t getting to see my beautiful bride but a few hours a day. I was working towards what I thought would be a great future. My desire began to wane and I found myself dropping out because my Supervisor told me they wouldn’t let me move to the engineering department upon graduating; something he told me was a possibility when I started school.

One of my fondest memories are the two friends I made while in class; Scott and Oscar. These two guys made such an imprint on my life and kept me going. I still keep in touch with Oscar but I haven’t heard from Scott since school. For Christmas, we decided to get each other gifts which were really only worth sentimental value because the gifts probably came out of a nickel machine. Scott got me a small remote control car. When I say small I mean matchbox size that stays charged every bit of thirty seconds then you have to recharge it.

Ten years later and I’m sitting here watching Levi play with it. It still stays charged for thirty seconds but he’s getting a kick out of it. When you charge it you have to pull the battery out of the controller and attach it to the car. Earlier, Levi had the controller but wouldn’t let us put the charger back in it. He kept saying, “Mine!” We would tell him to run the car, it has to be put back in the controller and he would say, “Mine!” Every time we would ask him for the controller to put the charger back in it, he would say… Yup you guessed it. “Mine!”

Of course I told him that in order to have power, you must have the source of power. Of course his reaction would be, “Mine!”

“Ok,” I’d say, “but you’re not going to do anything or go anywhere without the power.”

“Mine!”

Acts 1:8 But you will receive power when the Holy Spirit comes on you; and you will be my witnesses in Jerusalem, and in all Judea and Samaria, and to the ends of the earth.”

We try so hard to get accomplished and live a “successful” life without God. Even Christians! It’s impossible to live in peace without the Spirit. Sure we can gain the world but we’ll lose our soul in the process. When things go wrong, we do everything in our own power to fix them and most times, we just make them worse.

  • Your marriage is wrecked and you think you can buy something to make your spouse happy.
  • Your friendship is jacked up and you think you can say something to make it better.
  • Folks look down on you and you think you can achieve some sort of status to make them like you
  • Your bank account is dried up and you think you can manipulate feelings for free handouts.
  • You overwork yourself at your job only to be passed up for a promotion

Jesus knows that it is impossible to do things on our own. We need a source of power. We need Jesus to get through this life, this messed up world, to overcome our fears and anger. He said he couldn’t stay here longer but that He’s sending a helper and through this helper we receive power. This power is not to bring us riches. It’s not to make us comfortable. It’s not to please us nor make us happy. This Spirit is to help us accomplish God’s will for our lives. In doing so, He gives us the things in life we need in order to accomplish them.

If Levi wants the car to go, he’ll have to realize he needs the charger pack put back in the controller. If you want to have a life that’s meaningful and brings God the glory he deserves, you’ll have to realize where that power comes from; the Spirit. We have to learn to live by the Spirit and not the flesh.

Zechariah 4:6 So he said to me, “This is the word of the Lord to Zerubbabel: ‘Not by might nor by power, but by my Spirit,’ says the Lord Almighty.

To respect my ten-year old self I must quote the great prophet Adam or better known as He-Man. “By the power of Greyskull, I have the power!” He knew his power came from a greater source rather than himself. We need to realize our power comes from God, not ourselves.

*Levi is my 2-year-old and I’m learning life lessons watching him grow

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

Leave a Reply

