One Year As Job Coach


January 6th, 2012, I started a new season of my life. I had found my identity in pest control and devoted what I knew of life to being the best pest control tech ever but still felt a longing to do something more worthwhile. Thanks be to God, he heard my determined prayers and answered them. To me it was a hard moment. I didn’t know what I would become. I felt like I was falling into an abyss of unknown.

  • Who would I become?
  • What would I do?
  • How would I provide for my family?
  • How would this affect me serving at church?

So many questions and quite honestly so much doubt. I knew in my heart that God would provide and keep us protected. I just didn’t know what that looked like. I’m thankful that God knows more than I do and nothing takes Him by surprise. He is always faithful and never leaves to our own devices.

That leads me to today. Today marks one year I have been a Job Coach. I have been praying for years that God would give me a job that made a difference. Although I was making a difference in pest control, I wasn’t making an eternal difference. Now I can. The way I see it, I get to pastor people outside of the church building. I get to serve people by helping them be a better person and bettering their lives. It’s an awesome gig to have.

I also get to serve my church by being an associate to my pastor. In other words, I do what he doesn’t have time to do. I get to pastor our church in a tangible way by being there for them, praying with them and simply serving them in ay way I can.

You can see where I took a picture my first day of work. That picture is on your left. The picture on your right is exactly one year later. There’s a few huge differences that can’t be seen.

  1. I’m happy about what I get to do. In other words, I LOVE my work.
  2. I’m 20 lbs. lighter because of changing my diet. I also have NOT been sick once.
  3. I wake up each morning look forward to working.

I guess the one big difference you see is the blurriness of the picture on the right. That’s because my camera is jacked up because I’ve never put a cover on my phone.

Bottom line: I’m thankful I serve a God who loves me enough to have greater plans that I do for me. All glory to Him!!!

One Year

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

Leave a Reply

