1.20.13 Worship Rewind


Worship Rewind 2013

Today was awesome. Nerves were high yet the excitement level was higher. The band tried a couple of new things today that I believe in hindsight went over rather well.

First the version of Come Let Us Adore Him was different for our church. I put a floor tom by my guitar rig and didn’t play guitar. I just sang but in the middle of the song me and Thomas (drummer) broke into a drum play off. That was so much fun. Felt different not having a guitar in my hands and just singing. You can always tell when someone doesn’t know what to do with their hands.

After the welcome we played Holy Is The Lord. We haven’t played that song in quite some time so it was fun rehashing a “classic”.

The adventure to try new things this year started early this year with the drum off and then last week and this week bringing in some R&B gospel songs and next week we’re going to do an abbreviated worship team. This week we played Fred Hammond’s Give Me A Clean Heart. I fell in love with this song when I first heard and it has been speaking to me for a while. I finally got the nerve to bring it in. We played it last night in our Encounter Worship night and today. I was really concerned how the church would accept it. I was so relieved after church when I heard so many people liked it. May have to keep that one around and let our house R&B singer have at it. Ahem Eddie!!!!

We then went into communion, something else we decided to do. Last year, we held communion during our Encounter Worship nights, but after discussion we thought it better to do them on Sunday so more folks could participate.

Moving into Healer, the song went really well. Even with our pianist learning the media during the first service so she can work with our youth on Wednesday nights running media. It was a little empty without her so we had to compromise and start a little differently in the first service.

We had a great service today. We’ve also been on a 21 day fast and although I’m not fasting sweets, I’ve only had minimal. I have only had one Mountain Dew and Fudge Round so I will have to say I am definitely pleased with that. Ahem… Pastor!!!!! In case you’re wondering if that’s a big deal, their actual name even though it’s not on the wrapper is Riner Dew and Fudge Riners. Lol

We are asking God to hear our prayers and answer us this year at Xtreme. To God be the glory even if He doesn’t!

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

Leave a Reply

