1.27.13 Worship Rewind


Worship Rewind 2013

Main worship theme – God’s greatness and our need for Him

Great day. We decided to mix things up a little this week. We went with an abbreviated worship team consisting of me and Tony, our bass player. It reminded me of the days I used to spend in the coffee houses, propped up on a stool with a djembe player and just sang in a laid back atmosphere. Fun stuff.

We started with All Because Of Jesus. Definitely different with a rocking song dialed back on an acoustic guitar and bass. Obviously the dynamics weren’t there but it was a breath of fresh air to hear it in a different way. I was reminded of concerts I went to and the first opening act was a solo person with an acoustic and dreamed of one day being there.

After I welcomed everyone, we went into Give Me A Clean Heart. On my loop pedal, I looped a beat that I created tapping on the side of my acoustic. As that played through, I brought in the guitar and Tony knocked it out of the park with his driving bass riffs running all over the fretboard. He was laying it down sweet! Love using that loop pedal for fun stuff like that. I’m no Fred Hammond but we make this song work for us, LOL.

On Overcome, I wetted the signal down with some slap-back delay on the acoustic and again sounded great with a different feel for the song.

Lastly, we sang I Need Thee Every Hour. I kept the delay on and we played the first two verses in D, the modulated to G for the third vers, the modulated again to C for the fourth verse. I thought the key changed were powerful. Something I’m trying to do more is add more hymns to our sets. My goal is to at least have on each week. Sometimes, it won’t be necessary but as a goal, it keeps the focus of providing rich heritage and deep theological songs continuing for future generations.

My voice felt weak this morning so some songs I could feel my notes wavering. I didn’t drink enough water this morning nor did I warm up like I normally do. I’m sure that played a part but I’m glad I wasn’t recorded. I was cringing even as I was singing thinking to myself, Wow, that note started well but slid off the biscuit quick.

Thanks, Lyndsey, for the picture. I saw the bright light go off and had no clue what just happened. Lol

worship

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

Leave a Reply

