2.17.13 Worship Rewind


Worship Rewind 2013

Awesome day of worship. Eddie Led us and he tore it up. I loved how he led us and I loved that I didn’t have to lead. It was nice to sit back and play guitar and throw some BGVs in occasionally. We had planned to do four songs but I cut it back considering I had to do a special song and two videos were played in the message. So we cut some time out of the music section to make room.

We started off with the welcome and went into You Are Good. This song has been played at Xtreme before but typically when I wasn’t there. Guest worship leaders have led it. Today we rocked the house with it and it was great.

We then went into Give Me A Clean Heart. Nothing was said between songs. As soon as we rolled out of the last song I started into this one with the acoustic sitting in the pocket. I also have a guitar solo I do in this one to break it up a little. In the second service, I thought Eddie was gonna forget about me because he was all into it. I later told him it would have been fine had he just went on and finished the song. It was also great to have him singing the song. I just got to play and jive a little.

I spoke a moment on God’s faithfulness and then we played Great Is Thy Faithfulness. We originally intended for me to sing the first two verses and Eddie do the last one but Eddie decided he really want to harmonize with me and let me lead it so that’s what we did. It worked out real well. Eddie closed us out in prayer.

After the worship team stepped down, I played a version of Turn Turn Turn. I’m not a big fan of the original so I softened the first chorus and verse up a little, then the next two choruses and verses sounded pretty normal. I was playing with open tuning which gave me the opportunity to add a little lead guitar over open chords. The last verse was played rather normal and the I finished it out. I really liked this version. I’m not biased though. Ha! I also added a little delay to it which dampened the signal and sounded so good.

Next week Carrie and I get to give a message on the five things that destroy a marriage. It’s gonna be epic!

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

Leave a Reply

