Still Prodigal


the prodigal

Let’s stand together and admit somedays, you just don’t feel like living for God. You don’t feel like reading God’s word. You don’t feel like listening to the direction the Holy Spirit is giving. You don’t feel like being a Christian to others. You really just feel like being a hard ass and doing your own thing. If you’re a Christian and disagree, check yourself!

As I was going through a moment of this crap feeling I thought about how prodigal* I was. Not that I left God per se but that my spirit was simply refusing to be keen to God’s spirit. I just wasn’t feeling it. I was preparing for Sundays with a “meh” attitude. I was just in this blah state of mind. Then God suddenly led me to think about the prodigal son.

God just reminded me that He’s there when I decide to return. He wasn’t gonna force me to leave the swine of the world’s fun. He wasn’t going to demand in a forceful way that I quit feeling spiritually lazy. He just simply reminded me that when I decide that return is more important than running away, He would be there to welcome me back.

The story of the prodigal son isn’t just for those who have never experience Christ and the need to come and be saved. It’s also for those who have experienced the love of the father and thought maybe there was more in life. It’s a story of epic love that reminds us the Father is far greater than the pig sty the world can offer.

The story isn’t just for those who run away from God for years and decide to come back after the realization that the world’s fun isn’t for them. The story is to remind us that just yesterday, the love of God was far better than the momentary worldly feelings I’m having. We sometimes get wrapped up in the here and now and forget of the eternal implications of love from the Father. Here and now sounds fun and may be for a moment but God calls us after a time to come back.

We can all become prodigal at some time. It may be that we need the first ever meeting with the Father’s love that we’ve never experienced. It may be that we just want to experience something far less greater than that love for a moment for a good reminder that he’s far better. It may be that that time away spans further than a day to a month, a year, a decade.

The whole time the Father never leaves. The whole time the Father gazes past the horizon at sundown wondering where the prodigal is and wondering if he’ll/she’ll come back. Every day the Father wakes up prepared to give us mercy upon the arrival of the prodigal.

We’ve all been prodigal or are being prodigal. Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed, for his compassions never fail. They are new every morning; great is His faithfulness.

*The original meaning of prodigal is A person who spends money in a recklessly extravagant way. I use it in context as an adjetive that a prodigal person is living his/her life in a wasteful way

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

Leave a Reply

