2.24.13 Worship Rewind


Worship Rewind 2013

We had an amazing time of worship today. Even during practice, I felt the Holy Spirit moving me bringing me to tears. During the first service I could hardly contain it because I knew what some folks were are going though and the songs were just speaking right to them and as I would look out you could see hands raised or their faces just filled with thought. I love it when God is doing amazing things in folk’s hearts.

We started off with Today Is The Day. We do the Lincoln Brewster version without the solo. It rocked and really set the mood for what was to come.

After the welcome we rocked on some Let God Arise. I really had fun with this song. Because we had an abbreviated worship team, I played electric guitar today and banged out some good chops while I played. It’s been a while since I have played my electric and quite honestly it was a lot of fun.

I spoke about how God is not only Mighty To Save us from a second death but he is also able to remove the things we see as mountains in our lives and so we sang Mighty To Save. I could tell this song was speaking directly to some folks and like I mentioned earlier, it moved me as well.

Rescue just flowed out of Mighty To Save in the first service and was beautifully done. This is such a great song. It always touches me and reminds me of how much I still need to be rescued not only from my sin but simply from myself and my arrogant selfish ways sometimes. Again it had me moved to tears knowing that it was reaching a lot of folks this morning.

We only had drums, bass and one guitar this morning and I quipped to our drummer before first service it brought back old days of playing gigs all over the place in my trio called Lyrical Jenius. I also played through this little amp I can’t even remember the brand name now. One of the youth brought it to church and I plugged it in and it just gives a great tone and crisp sound. I loved it so much and I believe it just has a little 8″ speaker in it so we mic’ed it up and went with it. Say good-bye to the two ton Peavey amp. I’m just gonna use this little jr from now on if it’s still around.

On a side note, not only did I lead worship this morning but my wife and I gave a message on 5 ways to destroy your marriage. It was so much fun teaching with my wife just being relaxed and telling our story. We heard so many great things about it after we were done. I’m glad that our story was able to speak to so many and help in so many ways. I love my church!

Let this song speak to you!

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

Leave a Reply

