I Can’t Stand It


  • A father/mother embraces his/her child before deployment
  • A spouse weeps over the flag draped coffin
  • A child is beaten by a parent
  • A spouse is domestically abused
  • Divorce
  • Suicide
  • Depression
  • Anxiety Disorders
  • PTSD
  • Parents doing drugs near a child
  • A child is verbally abused
  • A woman is married to a physically abusing drunk
  • Cheating spouses

I could go on and on. Living in a military town, I see this all the time. There are so many stories that make me so mad and upset, I can’t do anything about. It’s real. It happens. In my neighborhood. I’m helpless to aid. I could go back home where these things aren’t as vibrant. If it’s happening, nobody knows. But I don’t leave. I stay. Thinking slightly that if anything can be done, I want to try. Prayer? Counsel? Advice? Advocacy? Something?

Jesus in his love didn’t leave us but pursued us. Matter of fact, he came to us rather than staying in Heaven. He came to be a part of us to give us hope, to give us an answer, to show the grand love only He can give.

He couldn’t stand it it.

He didn’t leave.

I can’t stand it.

I won’t leave!

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

Leave a Reply

