February 2013 – Book list


Library-Books-1

These are the book I read in February.

  1. Measuring The Orchard – Geoff Surrat
  2. Screaming Eagles (101st Airborne Division) – Russ and Susan Bryant
  3. Patio and Kitchen Herb Gardens – Julia Winchester
  4. A Walk In The Woods – Bill Bryson
  5. Faith Debugged – Kevin Riner
  6. Fieldbook – Boy Scouts of America
  7. Just Passing Thru – Winton Porter

One book I would like to highlight is obviously mine. Would love for you to pick up a copy of Faith Debugged if you haven’t had a chance to read it. Here’s a brief description.

Have you ever felt like the work you were doing was not making a difference? In fact, you felt like the work you were doing was making you desperate; desperate for a new J.O.B., desperate for a new way of life, desperate to make changes. I felt these emotions everyday when I would go to work and prepare to spend hours upon hours in the crawlspace of houses, searching in the dark corners of kitchen cabinets, for roaches, scanning the foundation walls for the entrance of ants, studying mouse droppings to determine what rodent I was dealing with. 

Each day was an attempt to rid someone of the pests in their life. However, the pest in my life was my job. I never felt I could exterminate the very thing that bothered me the most because it kept food on my table and clothes on my back. Feeling a state of depression, I began to cry out to God for something more; something that would give me satisfaction, something that would make me feel that what I was doing was making a difference, a tangible difference that I could put a metric to.

It was during this time that I felt the call of God to see my job as more than a bug assassin. I felt God tell me to begin looking at my job through the lens of my faith. This is when I began to see my job as much, much more. As I began to do this, I began to see the parallels of my walk with Christ and my work as an exterminator. 

Through my book Faith Debugged, I take you on an adventure. An adventure you never thought you would take. It’s one that takes us through the crawlspace and we find God there. It takes you to the kitchen to find God in the cabinets. It takes you through the business of pest control and enlightens you on the inner workings of pest management. I’ll search for roaches, ants, mice, silverfish, termites and more with you. All this is done thought the lens of Christ. Allow me to take you on a journey through the world of pest control and demonstrate how faith can be debugged!

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

Leave a Reply

