The Sequester and the Church


I didn’t think this out too long. It just came to me. I won’t keep you long if you decide to read this post. I appreciate that you do. Here’s a thought.

I work around Ft. Campbell, an Army Installation in Clarksville, TN. I have been personally affected by the sequester that has come out of washington to make thousands of dollars in cuts. I have personal thoughts on this issue that I will keep them to myself; all but one. I have friends who are being furloughed a day worth of work. This means that in a months time, they will be taking anywhere to $500-$800 in losses each month because our government is very good at making bad decisions.

What this means is that on post, workers will incur a 32 hour workweek and a 20% pay cut. Most of you are probably like me and work paycheck to paycheck. Imagine if you had to take that kind of cut. How would you make it? Daycares and schools will be impacted. Businesses on post will be impacted. Airport personnel will be impacted. So many positions on post will be impacted.

My thought.

Where can the Church step in to help? Can we help with watching kids for a day because the parents still have to work? Can we help with extra giving in order to help feed and tend to the needs of our soldiers? Can we help with bills and groceries or even having a night to invite them into our homes to make dinner for them?

Unfortunately, we are living in a time where our government is making the worst decisions and it doesn’t seem to be getting better. I think it’s time that the Church step up and do what it was supposed to be doing the whole time instead of allowing the government do our part. Help others in need. If anyone is supposed to be about social programs, it’s the CHURCH, not the government.

During this hard time of sequestering, I urge you to consider how you can help those who are being impacted the most.

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

2 Responses to The Sequester and the Church

  1. angeorge21 says:

    Thats such a great point that if anyone shouldbe about special programs to help it should be the church. 🙂

Leave a Reply

