3.24.13 Worship Rewind


Worship Rewind 2013

Happy Spring. Or is it is Winter. Could be Sprinter or Wing. I’m not really sure at this point. Either case, God was moving today and we had a great service. We had a lot of new faces today. It’s always good to see new faces at the church. It’s just as good to see old faces and I hate when they miss. We had a lot of folks out today.

We started off with Sing Sing Sing. I’m not a big fan of singing this song and the band knows it but we do it anyway. I do think it has a great message and some in the band like this song so we continue to use it. I think it’s starting to grow on me though after all these years. Lol. Thomas plays it at 1000 MPH and by the time he’s done, his arm is about to fall off. The band does an excellent song. We rearranged it today by adding the first verse in there twice. I really liked that.

After the announcements and the welcome, Kaven started us off with a cool guitar lick to get everyone moving. I could tell some folks were enjoying our spin on a classic hymn Power In The Blood. I really enjoy playing this song. I made a commitment to my church this year to do a hymn each Sunday or at least try to put a hymn in our set each Sunday. I don’t want the next generation missing out on such thick and theological deep songs.

We went straight in to Jesus Messiah. I really enjoyed Eddie’s BGVs. He sang harmony and it sounded so full. This whole song just really sounded good. It’s been a while since we sang this song but I found it appropriate on Palm Sunday. I talked about how the Jews were crying Messiah and Hosanna as Jesus made his triumphal walk into Jerusalem but five days later they cried crucify Him. I encouraged our church not to be that person who cries Hosanna on Sunday then crucify Him on Monday. Worship in spirit and truth.

I then read from Isaiah 53:3-6 about how he was wounded for our transgressions. The simplicity of the gospel is wrapped up in verse 6- The Lord saw it fit to lay all our iniquity on Him!

We then sang Above All. I haven’t sang this song in a while but I thought the band did very well and I could tell it was touching a lot of people.

This week we go in to Holy Week (no that’s not in the bible). Take time and focus on what Jesus did years ago leading up to Friday. If you’re in Clarksville, I want to invite you to our Encounter Worship on Friday night at 7:00. We will have an amazing time and we will have communion together. I’m looking forward to it.

Then on Sunday, we will be making the biggest announcement we have ever made at Xtreme. You don’t want to miss this. Again, if you’re in Clarksville, TN, be there to find out.

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

Leave a Reply

