God Loves Souls, Not Stereotypes


Yesterday, I ran into three different people who after talking with them I was caught totally by surprise that they love Jesus. Granted, I was stereotyping the type of person that can only love Jesus. It wasn’t that first look upon them I thought to myself no way they could love Jesus. It was more of a surprise when they brought him up in conversation.

One was a very big man with his t-shirt off. He had tattoos all over his body and none were of the Jesus type or I Love Mom. On his coffee table were self rolled cigarettes that looked like joints. He holds bible study in his apartment every Monday with a few other guys who have addictions.

One was a manly type man who worked in a factory. He was dressed warm in a Carhartt jacket, work boots and gloves. He looked big, rough and scary with a foo man chu but he had a pleasant personality and seemed very genuine in helping me. He mentioned to me about how his church helps folks find work where he works and how much Jesus is a part of his life.

Another was a lady that didn’t look so lady like with a rough voice from years of cigarette smoking. Her hair was matted and makeup was piled up, I thought she may have a second job as a circus clown. The cigarette had that lipstick stain yet as she waved it in the air, she told me about how she met Jesus through an abusive marriage and she believes Jesus is the best thing that ever happened to her life.

Each of them couldn’t help but tell me about Jesus!

A few days ago, I wrote a short post on how God is more concerned with people and not establishments. Today I’m saying God is more concerned about souls than he is our stereotypes. How many times have you thought, no I won’t tell that guy or girl about God because they would never accept God’s message based on their looks, or music they listened to or books they read? I know I have many times. But God isn’t into our stereotypes. He’s into soul saving.

He spoke to the Samaritan woman at the well, a Jew’s enemy. He talked about how a “good” Samaritan helped a Jew get back on his feet. Paul talked about how there is no longer Jew or Gentile. Huge biblical stereotypes being crushed by Jesus in the bible simply because he says “all” who call on me shall be saved if only they believe in their heart and confess me Lord.

If anyone, this post is for me first. I come from stereotype country where we’ll as soon not look at you before we talk to you just based on how you look, dress, or act. These are barriers I still struggle with. So in encouraging you, I’m also encouraging myself to let God be God and work in the hearts of all people. Speak Jesus!

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

One Response to God Loves Souls, Not Stereotypes

  1. Pingback: God Still Loves The Jews | Your Dog Wouldn't Like It

Leave a Reply

